RSS

A Collection ARC Reviews

25 Jan

As you know, I am behind in my reading. Which means I am REALLY behind in my reviews. Here are 4 reviews that have been waiting to be written.  These 4 books have something in common: They are all making a stance on some social or political issue relating to Americans. Fair warning: the reviews are short:

The Circle of Thirteen by William Petrocelli

ARC provided by Edelweiss

Review: Set in the future, this book is give us a thrilling look into what the future could be for women’s rights. Overall, I enjoyed the plot. I liked that even while women’s rights had evolved, there were still people who were trying to hold women back. Those very same people were strong enough to create havoc on our world. There were many heartwarming moments, especially Julia’s relationship with her “grandmother”. The book did move slower than I had hoped, but I blame all the jumping around in time for that. It is very distracting. I also got the feeling that most of the women didn’t have very good relationship with men, only with other women. I wish that was more balanced. But overall, it was a delightful book, and gives us a perspective of how damaging misogynistic thinking can be.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

They Kingdom Fall by Austin Dragon

ARC provided by NetGalley

Review: There are very few books I cannot finish, and this was one of them. I tried to finish–but unfortunately the book felt like Tea Party Propaganda. On top of all the time jumping and editorial mistakes, I just couldn’t get through more than 40% of the book. I do think people who enjoy right wing philosophy would love this book, and the author has a lot of Promise in regards to his writing skills. Unfortunately, this book was just not for me.

Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Little White Lies by Cole Riley

ARC provided by NetGalley

Review: There parts of this book that deserved 5 stars, and others that deserved 2. The premise of the book was equally interesting and portraying a reality felt by many young black men. His dad was a perfect antithesis to his mother. Unfortunately, the book’s pacing was sub par. At points it moved fast, and others moved slow. I especially thought the ending was rushed. I think the author has potential, but his potential was not fully realized in this book. Overall, a good book, but forgettable.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Journey into the Flame by T.R. Williams

ARC provided by NetGalley

Review: Williams brought us a fun adventure. From the beginning the action in this novel was non-stop. There was always something happening. If there were no movement, then we were brought into some spiritual understanding. Overall, really enjoyed this book. At times the book moved into the realm of politics (BAD GMOs!! Down with corporations!) and that got annoying. I am also not so much a fan of time jumps anymore. Past, Present, Future, Present, Future, back to Past, and it all got confusing. Still an enjoyable read nonetheless. I am looking forward to the sequel.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Thoughts?

 
