RSS

ARC Review: Taste of Darkness by Maria V. Snyder

30 Dec

“Thank the Flea!”

Taste of Darkness by Maria V. Snyder

**ARC Provided by NetGalley**

Summary: Avery can’t find Kerrick and everyone is telling her he is dead. She refuses to believe it, but the world needs her anyways and she has to pick herself up anyways. She is fed up of betrayals and is done with following the rules. Will she be able to save the world and find Kerrick, hopefully alive?

Review: I planned on reviewing this sooner because I had an ARC, but I have been busy with things. Sorry for the delay.

I didn’t quite enjoy this book as much as the last one, mostly because it was repetitive and predictable. Still, with the book’s funny moments and lively adventure, Taste of Darkness didn’t disappoint.

I was mostly disappointed with the back and forth “is he dead” and the “is she alive”. It takes a lot of guts for an author to kill beloved characters, and the ending of this series would have been perfect if either Avery and/or Kerrick had passed away. They would have left behind a bittersweet legacy. The predictable happy ending left me bored. And how many times can a character supposedly “die” before we actually believe it?

I also found the villain’s downfall a bit boring. Again, it was predictable. I was expecting it to be a lot more dramatic, for him to pull something ridiculous and Avery having to outsmart him yet again. Didn’t happen. It was regular old action.

What I did love was a lot of the other action sequences. Rescuing the girls from Chinksa Mare was excellent. The drama and despair created in their situation and the women rising up was uplifting. We saw Avery at her best. Snyder did a wonderful job creating the torture scene between Avery and the Skeleton King. She was able to create a despairing situation without making it about rape and obvious forms of torture. It was original and creative.

All in all, the world built in the Healer series is intriguing. I thought bringing it all together through the lilies showed real inspiration on Snyder’s part. I am glad they were able to create more healers because their world needed them, even if they are only children now.

Overall, the end of the trilogy satisfied the reader in me. It’s not a series I would read over and over again, but I am glad I read it. I recommend this book for all fantasy and romance readers out there.

Sex: References to sex and kissing
Violence: torture scenes, fighting, death

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Series Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Thoughts?

 
