RSS

Review: Kitty in the Underworld by Carrie Vaughn

31 Jul

“So, a question for the peanut gallery: Once they turn sixty-five, how long should working vampires be able to collect social security? The rest of their lives, like the rest of us? Are you a vampire collecting social security? I want to hear from you…”

Kitty in the Underworld by Carrie Vaughn


Summary: Dux Bellarum, Roman, has hurt a friend, and Kitty is worried about what they can do to stop them. When there are unknown weres in her and Ben’s territory, Kitty goes to check it out. She is kidnapped, but can’t stay angry for long because they know how to stop Roman. Will they succeed?

Review: I am a champion for the Kitty books. I think Carrie Vaughn is a superb writer. But this book was just a big letdown.

I like her characters. Kitty continues to grow and in this book she starts to see her role in the Long Game as more than just a “mouthpiece”. She has been fighting it for a bit, but I think she is coming to terms with it. We barely got to see our normal supporting cast, but we met other interesting characters.

Also, I enjoyed the storytelling and historical references. It helped frame the whole novel.

That’s where it ends for me. Because, this felt more like a novella than a full length novel. I was bored with Kitty’s time in lock up. Was it necessary for it to be that long and monotonous? I think if she shortened Kitty’s time as a prisoner, the story would have flowed better. And, as much as I enjoyed the history in this book, it was a bit much. Too many tales with separate threads that didn’t find a cohesive story.

The overall plot was also bland. It wasn’t compelling. I wanted to get sucked into Kitty’s world and I found myself skimming. Not good. A kidnapping should be exciting. Rather it was boring. I half thought they were going to break out the fancy tea set and have petite fours at one point. Where was the heat?

She introduced characters that could have been fleshed out later, but instead many of them died. Why introduce characters that are going to die anyway? And what was Angelo’s role in this book? I didn’t get it. I don’t see how he added to the story.

The best of Kitty’s books are the radio shows. And again, I was bored by them. She had a vampire stripper on the show. She could have made it so much more fun! Think of the places that it could go! But, I wanted to take a nap, instead.

It was dull. I hate saying that about books, especially when they come from an author I admire, but there it is. It was boring. I hope we get a more thrilling story in the next installment. Or, it’s time to wind down Kitty’s story? I suppose that’s something only Vaughn can answer.

Sex: none
Violence: not much at all. Negligible.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars
Series rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Next book: Not sure , but I think it will be a novel from Cormac’s POV. Let’s hope there is no everlasting romance between him and Amelia.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Thoughts?

 
