ARC review: Cast in Sorrow by Michelle Sagara

27 Jul

“I don’t understand.”
The Consort’s smile was bitter. “No. No more do I.”
“I doubt that.”
“Do you imply that I lie, Lord Kaylin?”
“Clumsy of me. I’m not usually that subtle.”

Cast in Sorrow by Michelle Sagara

**ARC provided by Netgalley**

Summary: Lord Kaylin Neya has finally arrived at West March, ready to get her job as Harmoniste over with. But the Barrani in the west dislike her even more. When the Consort goes out of commission, and Teela’s anger reached unbelievable heights, Kaylin fears her job will get even harder. Will she be able to tell the story that has already failed so many people?

Review: I just read the series, and squealed with joy when I received the ARC to “Cast in Sorrow”. And so far, it is my favorite book in the “Chronicles of Elantra” series.

We have changed settings from Elantra to the West March. Sagara does a brilliant job presenting to us how the green behaves. And yes, I said behaves. In the Chronicles of Elantra (COE) world, inanimate objects like water and buildings have emotions and avatars. The land of the Green is not any different. Also, I love how Sagara used something as innocuous as words to be the basis of magic. She has blended the idea of how “words have meaning” with a magical weight that is unique and thought provoking. And let’s not forget our little dragon friend that hatched in the last book.

Kaylin’s visit to the West March is largely not about her, but the people surrounding her. Another way to look at this book, Kaylin is not just the harmoniste for the regalia, but she is the harmoniste for the reader as well. Yes, the book is still told from her POV, but she spends a lot of time observing the stories around her. Severn, the Consort, and the Warden (a new character) all have their individual stories to tell. We find out who Nightshade lost. I enjoyed this style because it takes someone else’s life or story and it informs Kaylin’s life and story. It makes not only the people around her stronger, but it also makes Kaylin a better person. Most importantly, this book is Teela’s story. We get an end to the story told years before when Teela was a child, and the Barrani failed those children. I can’t give too much away, but it was a satisfying conclusion.

One of Sagara’s strengths is that she doesn’t dwell on Kaylin’s romantic interests. Rather her focus is on all of Kaylin’s relationships. Particularly in this book it’s her relationship with Teela. Defining friendship and family, this relationship is truly precious.

I wish I could elaborate more without giving anything else away, but alas you just have to read this book when it comes out. You will need to read the books before this, especially the last book, in order to understand the plot. But this book does not disappoint.

Sex: none
Violence: none

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Series Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Next Book: Titled “Cast in Flame” according to Michelle Sagara’s website. No tentative date yet.

Leave a comment

Posted by on July 27, 2013 in Uncategorized




Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: