RSS

Review: Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris

10 Jul

I also appreciate that Americans wear campaign buttons–identifiers saying either “You and I are alike,” I am a huge asshole,” or, in the case of a third-party nominee, “I don’t mind wasting my vote.”

Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris

Summary: A collection of funny essays and short stories that include stories about colonoscopies, reactions to legalization of Same Sex Marriage, and stuffed owls…

Review: I don’t normally read non-fiction, but the book cover caught my eye at the bookstore. I am always looking to broaden my reading horizon, so I decided to give this book a try. I wasn’t disappointed, but I wasn’t overly pleased either.

Truthfully, Sedaris is funny. He showed us his skill of taking a serious live event, like going in for a colonoscopy, and making it hilarious. He takes politics and turns it on it’s side, to show how ridiculous it can be. He shows us how frustrating it is to find a stuffed owl in the United States. And it’s hilarious.

He is also great at being poignant. In the essay, “Memory Laps,” he shows us how hard it is to grow up with a critical parent. He wrote a short fictional piece about same sex marriage, and it was odd, but it made you think. I especially enjoyed the story about “Loggerheads”, and contemplated what life is on the other side of the BB gun.

I really enjoyed his humor in his fictional pieces. They were, in reality, social commentaries, and his depiction of the caricatures were priceless. In the story “Health-Care Freedoms and Why I Want My Country Back,”, we learn about a lady who wants to protest against Washington wearing a sombrero. I loved the twist at the end of “Just a Quick E-mail”, an e-mail about a silly wedding present. And who doesn’t love a good poem about dogs? The fictional pieces were full of oxymorons and ironic dramatizations.

But a lot of it fell flat for me. The first story about dentists, I found boring and pointless. Why would I care about dentists in France? I think I missed the point on that one. Most of the essays felt that way to me. I was either missing the point, or the point didn’t go far enough.

Also, if you are not politically liberal, then you might not enjoy a lot of his stories. Thankfully, I am.

I heard his previous collections and books were funnier than this book, so maybe I’ll give them a try. I would recommend this book as a good “read on the toilet” book. It’s not one where you would stay up all night to read.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Thoughts?

 
