RSS

I’m back!

21 Jun

“Shall I atone for old sins or make some new ones?”

A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin

I am back from my vacation! Okay, I have been back for 5 days, but I have been recovering 😉 It turns out being in 4 different time zones in less than 3 weeks is hard on a person. The trip was amazing for the most part. At times emotionally exhausting. But it was what I needed to get myself focused again.

I am back to writing, thesising. I am trying to get myself back on a workout schedule and healthy eating, but that has been hard with all the recuperating. I’ve been sleeping a lot, ha ha. But it’s all a matter of getting into the swing of things.

As far as my reading goes, I finished A Dance With Dragons. It had slow moments, but I enjoyed it. 4 out of 5 stars. And now, I am with everyone waiting for book 6, that won’t be out till around 2015. I read the whole Charlie Madigan series, and they impressed me. I was disappointed to find out the publishers didn’t renew the series. I think they are losing out on a good value here! Overall I gave the series 4 out of 5 stars.

I read The Secret Keeper, written by Kate Morton. It was a chick lit, set in England both in present time, and during WW2. Most of the book moved slowly, but I loved the ending. 3 out of 5 stars.

I also read two erotic fiction books. The latest Shadowlands, This is Who I Am, was about Sam, a dominant and a sadist, and Linda, a woman who was kidnapped by slavers, who doesn’t want to admit that she is a masochist and a submissive. I thought Sam and Linda were both great leads, but the plot left a lot to be desired. I particularly found the family dramas unbelievable. Plus, I am not into S&M. I also read the first book in the Wicked Lovers series, Wicked Ties. I heard a lot of good things about Jack, but I found him immature and controlling. I think the Shadowlands heroes have ruined all other erotic fiction heroes for me.

I didn’t write formal reviews for these books as most of them were read while I was out of town. But if anyone wants a formal review for any of these books, let me know, and I’ll write up a full review! I have a couple of posts planned, so expect a few more posts from me before the month is out. I know I keep disappearing for weeks at a time, but I would rather write a few good posts than a lot of mediocre ones. Hope you can forgive me! 😉

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Thoughts?

 
