RSS

Recent reading report

28 Dec

Belated Merry Christmas and early Happy New Years! I know the holidays is a busy time for everyone, and it has been especially busy for me. I am now visiting family in Los Angeles, having a blast.

I have been reading a whole bunch of things lately, but they are books that have been out for awhile, so I didn’t think there was anything I could review for each book that could add anything. But for those that are curious:

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

3 out of 5 stars–Anna Karenina was my smart book of the year. I wanted to finish it before the movie came out, but instead it took me 2 months to finish.  Not because it was bad–on the contrary, it was good. But it was long with a lot of drawn out parts. The names and the style made it so I could only take it in short doses. The story is sweet with a lot of meaning attached to it. I almost gave it 4 stars, but like I said, it got unnecessarily slow.

“All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow.”

Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

4 out of 5 stars–I don’t understand why people don’t like this book. I thought it was touching was a touching story of characters who were perfect in their imperfection. Reading the description of the book, I went in prepared to dislike the husband and pity the wife. I came out not knowing how I felt. The book did drag at times, and there was a lot of moments where I thought he used imagery uselessly. Otherwise, it was beautiful.

“You can’t stop time. You can’t capture light. You can only turn your face up and let it rain down.”

Bigtime Series by Jennifer Estep

4.5 out 5 stars–I am not a big fan of paranormal romance. Most of the ones I used to like I am now bored with. But this was one series I absolutely adored. It is about a world where superheroes and ubervillans run rampant.  Just like most paranormal romance, these books are primarily romance with a happy ending, and each book features a new couple. However, there were differences. For one, these were comedic. There were no tortured heroes or dramatic tears. Also, a problem with paranormal romance series is that many times, the characters individual voices get lost. However, in these books, the characters do not lose their personalities in their own stories. I enjoyed these books immensely!

“The driver gave me a funny look, like I was a few sandwiches short of a picnic.” (Karma Girl, book 1)

Dresden Files by Jim Butcher (currently reading–book 10)

4 out of 5 stars–This is moving up as one of my top series. A hilarious and emotional wizard? Totally awesome. His skull sidekick? even better. Don’t forget the faeries, vampires, succubus, knights, etc. And of course all the romance and “lack of romance”.  Awesome world building, awesome relationships.

“There should be some kind of rule against needing to kill anything more than once.” (Grave Peril, book 3)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Thoughts?

 
