RSS

Review: Undead to the World by D.D. Barant

09 Dec

“Not that love doesn’t matter; it’s the reason for the love that doesn’t. I don’t care if you love me because you think I’m temporary or because you find wrinkles sexy or because I’m a dead ringer for someone you knew in Pompeii before it blew up; what I care about is the fact that you do. Right here, right now, you love me. I know that’s real. And that’s all that matters.”

Undead to the World by D.D. Barant

Synopsis: Jace Valcheck works as a waitress in Thropirelem, KS. She’s not all right in the head, and everyone in town doesn’t forget to remind her that. At least she has her favorite TV show she secretly watches, The Bloodhound Files. But now that dead bodies are showing up, and people are turning into something supernatural, Jace realizes not everything is as it seems…

Review: There are a lot of expectations in a final installment of a series. Undead to the World is the last book in the series, for the foreseeable future according to the author. I love the world Barant has created for us, and the details of his world were expanded in this book. However, there were many gaps in this installment that has left me feeling, incomplete.

First, what I did like. As I said before, the parallel worlds created in these books is unparalleled (pun fully intended). In this book, we see all the same characters from the previous books, but pictured as different people. Kansas was so different from alternate world Seattle, yet brilliant in its own way.

A fresh take on the mystery/crime plot, but story fit seamlessly into the series. Gallowsman was an intriguing villain, one we see and not see. Not forgotten were our regular villains and ambiguous bad guys. As a reader, we experience through Jace’s eyes, as confusing as her own predicament. The crime and Jace’s life mystery unfold complementary to each other. There were flashback moments where we got to see some of the characters’ past, and those were crafted beautifully.

However, even with all of that, Undead to the World fell short. I was really disappointed in the characters. All the characters felt like their depth went AWOL. I understand why that was the case at the beginning, but why later on in the book? Why was Jace not witty or Cassius not charming? My favorite character(s) Tair/Dr. Pete, came across as so boring, I was yawning through their scenes. The Tair/Dr. Pete problem ended in a dull and unimaginative manner. Oh, and my other favorite, Charlie? Well, not what I expected.

Why do all the guys fall in love with or obsess over Jace? Like really…

As a final book, we expect to see a some resolution to the characters’ thoughts and confusion, we don’t get that here. I don’t need all my questions answered, but a story always has a point–and there was no point, no lesson learned, no takeaway. Although I loved the overall plot, at many points it felt disjointed. Book two through four flowed flawlessly with each other and on their own, but the last book was choppy to the end.

Still, if you liked the previous installments, then you will want to finish the series. Perhaps the author will have a chance to give us a more satisfying conclusion.

Sex: kissing, sex scenes that are not vulgar.
Violence: people die, there are vampires and werewolves, what did you expect?

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
Series Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Thoughts?

 
