RSS

Reminder

23 Oct

I’ll never give up
Never give in
Never let a ray of doubt slip in
And if I fall
I’ll never fail
I’ll just get up and try again

“Win” by Brian McKnight

I needed a reminder.

Today, my therapist reminded me about myself:

You have depression. People who do not have depression can tell themselves to refocus, and they do. They could say, “I’ve been depressed, and I snapped myself out.” They didn’t have clinical depression. The same doesn’t work for you. Beating yourself up is going to make it worse. You can’t just wish away cancer, and you can’t wish away depression.

Thank you. I have been feeling like a failure and needed to hear that. I needed to be reminded that I can do take the same steps as everyone else, but it’s that much harder for me to dig myself out. I am better off than I was a few years ago.

My efforts don’t seem as fruitless anymore. I am reminded that all the cognition work and trying to get through my goals will become a reality, even if it doesn’t happen today.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Thoughts?

 
