Review: Ashes of Honor by Seanan McGuire

07 Sep

“Look. We are doing the best we can. We are calling in every favor and every ally that stands even the slightest chance of helping us out here. But we’re not miracle workers.”
“Then what’s the point of being magical creatures?” asked Bridget, still glaring.
“We get a discount at Starbucks,” I said.

Ashes of Honor by Seanan McGuire

Synopsis: Toby Daye is depressed and living life on the edge, much to the chagrin of her friends and family. But now a previously unknown and powerful changeling has gone missing, and the Court of Cats is in disarray. Toby had to rise to her role as a hero and face the many truths of her life.

Review: Saying that I love the Toby Daye books is an understatement. This book not only did not disappoint, but it blew all the other books out of the park. The last book ended a story arch, so this was the beginning of the next arch. The storyline for the next few books was set up beautifully. The author’s strengths are seen in the beautifully crafted plot, chapter to chapter. I loved the little hints she dropped of what is to come, with the introduction of new characters and little tidbits of Toby’s heritage.

I love her characters and relationships. Toby is not a perfect heroine by any means, yet she brings a maturity that is rarely seen in many UF books. She makes mistakes and faces up to them like the adult she is. We see vulnerable sides to many of our favorite characters. We see Tybalt’s past, May’s frustrations, and Quentin’s worry over his best friend. Tybalt is all over this book, and as he’s my favorite character, it made me read it that much faster. And of course, my favorite relationship made lots of progress this book.

I love how Toby always hurts herself and brings herself closer to death in a more vulgar manner. Even better is her family and friend’s reaction. Mocking Toby is everyone’s favorite past time, and I love reading it!

I can’t sing enough praises for this book. If you loved the first 5 books, the 6th installment is sure to blow you away.

Sex: Kissing
Violence: Lots of blood and fighting. Toby’s guts strewn all over the place. Fun…..!!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Series Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Next Book: Chimes of Midnight comes out September 1st, 2013

Leave a comment

Posted by on September 7, 2012 in Uncategorized




Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: