RSS

Take My Hand and Walk With Me

24 Aug

“Yes I will, take your hand and walk with you
Yes I will, say these three words I promise to
Yes I will, give you everything you need
And someday start a family with you”

“Yes I Will” by the Backstreet Boys

I just finished Stygian’s Honor by Lora Leigh and thought it was only ok (gave it 2 out of 5 stars).  I was disappointed, but it did give me some food for thought.

You can’t get more formulaic than romances.  Boy meets girl, chemistry sparks, they progress from steamy kisses to romps in the bedroom.  They have a fight or someone’s lies come out, they stay away from each other until they realize they love each other and have an exciting reunion.  Boom, all over.

That’s not romantic to me.  What I find romantic show up in series.  In the Breeds series, there are now 27 “mated couples”, with 27 books focusing on a couple getting together and following the above formula.  In later books, however, mated couples show up.  And in those scenes we see the couple who has been married for 10 years hugging each other.  You see the husband kissing his wife on the forehead.  Another couple and baby playing.  A woman who has found her love after overcoming years of abuse, cuddles with her husband underneath a blanket.  Romance is the building of relationships that can’t be seen in a solitary book, but over a period of a few books.

That is what romance is about.  Sure, reading a hot erotic sex scene is downright fantastic.  New love is always thrilling.  But Romance is in the sneaky looks where the couple talks with their eyes, the sharing of the joys of their children, and the hand holding.  Maybe it’s cause i’m old and married, give me seasoned relationships over new love stories any day.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Thoughts?

 
