RSS

Review: Time Untime by Sherrilyn Kenyon

08 Aug

“A’ight, baby,” she said with a smile. “But just so you know, you get hurt, I’m opening up a can of ’Bama whup-ass on them so big it’s gonna look like an LSU Bowl showdown. You hear me? Roll Tide.”

Time Untime by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Synopsis: Ren Waya is an old soul who almost destroyed the world, and he is still paying for it 11 thousand years later.  Kateri Avani is a professor who is plagued by dreams of her past, and she doesn’t know what they mean.  With the threat of a looming apocalypse, they are thrown together to save the world.  Can they save the world and each other?

Review: I was a bit skeptical going into this book.  There are so many Dark Hunter books now, the formulaic nature of the books is getting a bit tiresome.  Plus, I didn’t like Retribution, and the books are supposed to tie in together nicely.  But, I was surprised to find that I enjoyed the book quite a bit.  Mostly, I liked it because it reminded me of the Dark-Hunter books from the beginning.  Lovable leads, greek mythology, and of course my favorite Cajun. 😉

Kateri is a very lovable heroine, reminiscent of Sunshine, which makes sense considering the circumstances(Talon and Sunshine are in this book).  I didn’t like Ren in Retribution, but he redeemed himself in this book.  Kenyon does tortured heroes well, but he was different because Ren felt he deserved the bad treatment.  And his innocent questions of “why do you care?” Gets right to the heart of a self-loathing man.  Kateri’s anger for Ren, because of his torture, felt incredibly innocent and genuine.

I feel like the dark-hunter books sometimes pull from different mythologies just because Keyon can.  However, in this book, the Native American mythologies were quite smartly intertwined with the Greek and faux-Atlantean mythology.  While in Retribution we just see the Native American mythology and have no connection with the rest of the books, in this book it takes that story and brings it all together.

Nick Nick Nick Nick Nick.  Okay, out of my system.  I am not a fan of the Nick prequel books as much, but I love Nick.  And we see a lot of his pre-turn personality in this book, and I love it.  Those few pages alone made the book for me.  This book also had man more witty lines and funny moments than the last few books, and many of them come from Nick, Sasha and Jess–who are funny cause they exist.

There were a few things I didn’t like.  One, I don’t love “following formula” mantra for PNR books, but the dark-hunter books are even more formulaic.  Hero (usually tortured) falls in love with a beautiful woman, and they have wild monkey sex, and save the world from ANOTHER apocalypse, and then live forever to have millions of babies.  Secondly, the first half of the book is confusing.  A lot of things happen without much explanation.  It gets cleared up in the second half, but I was tired of not knowing what was going on.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book.  Read it if you like your love stories and some apocalypse stopping action!

Sex: Steam sex scenes written very lovingly
Violence: Death and destruction.  Also beating up children.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Series Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Next Book: Styxx, about Acheron’s brother comes out next year.  Chronicles of Nick’s next book, Inferno, will also be out next year.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Thoughts?

 
