RSS

Review: Biting Cold by Chloe Neill

07 Aug

“Just stay in play as my backup.”
I nearly swerved the car off the road. “I’m sorry— your backup?”
“You know, in case it doesn’t work out with Fallon.”
“And what about Ethan?” Jeff chuckled. “I just figured he was your backup for me.”
Of course he did.

Biting Cold by Chloe Neill

Synopsis: With the return of her love and losing her best friend, Merit is roadtripping to Nebraska to help find Mallory and return to Chicago to get sexy times on with Ethan.  But with the GP coming down hard on Cadogan house, Ethan not 100 percent, and a crazy ex mayor out to kill her . . . well Merit’s life is never easy, is it?

Review: A return to what was missing in Drink Deep!  and I’m not talking about Ethan.  I love the plot with Mallory.  It really shows the costs and punishments associated with addictions, and that real relationships suffer.  Authors sometimes like to create fairy tales and forget the real nature of people.  Catcher and Mallory’s relationship takes a hit in a remarkably real way, and we still don’t know if they will ever find their way towards each other again.  Also, There is a moment with Merit and Mallory that I love because it shows how even after life destroying addiction, relationships CAN be rebuilt.  This book is all about recovery.  People redeem themselves (even a couple that you hated!).  Recovery from Ethan’s dead and return.  Recovery from the costs of Ethan’s return.  Cadogan bouncing back from evil Frank.

I love the action and plot of this book because it really moves the story lines forward.  We finally see a lot of loose threads tied up.  It felt like an end to a story arch, with the House issues being the start of the new arch.  Reading this book and seeing the cover to the next book, we know what the next book will center on.

My favorite parts of these books are references to Chicago.  It makes me miss Chicago a lot.  Like Garret’s popcorn.  Willis tower and the Chicago skyline.  The politics is corrupt reminiscent of Chicago’s past (and present).  I just wish Mallocakes were real!

I still am not a lover of Ethan (and his relationship with Merit).  I hated that he was brought back to life, especially brought back the way he was.  But you know, I kinda liked him before he died, so maybe he can be restored in my eyes.  No.  Ethan is still a whiny arrogant BOY.  Merit talks about how he’s a man, and all I see is a spoiled rich kid.  He still has hesitations about their relationship and his go to default is to break up.  Yes, he comes back to Merit, but only after she chases after him.  I’m tired of Merit chasing after him.  It is counter to her personality, and it drives me crazy.

I feel like we didn’t get see enough of a lot of the other people in Merit’s life.  We never saw Merit’s dad, and barely saw her grandfather.  I wish we had seen more of Morgan than we did, especially after . . . Mostly I am disappointed we didn’t see enough of Jonah.  He’s my new favorite character.  I don’t know if Merit deserves his greatness, but at least I wish he had more page time.

Overall, this book brought back the fantastic stuff of the Chicagoland series: witty, action and lots of Chicago!  Great addition to a fun series!

Sex: a steamy sex scene
Violence: Sword play, fighting, Burning to vampire crispiness  . . .

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Series rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Next Book: House Rules comes out February 5th, 2013!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Thoughts?

 
